Making a Window Frame a Bulletin Board

Way back in November, I purchased this window frame with the idea to make it into a bulletin board for my desk in the bedroom.  The paint already matched perfectly, so I was excited I did not have to paint it.  But like many projects, it got pushed to the side with the wedding planning, wedding, and school.  It did not get touched again until a month ago.  At that time, I made the hubs hang it up because it had been sitting in the hallway for almost 5 months now and I was tired of having it take up space on the floor.  So then, it sat on the wall untouched for about a month.  But not anymore, I finished the project over the weekend!

So here is the original window frame hung up, but untouched:

window frame, bulletin board, diy

I bought this pack of cork board from Michaels:

window frame, bulletin board, diy

It came with 4 squares of cork board and some adhesive stickers.

Next, I measured a few of the window frames.

window frame, bulletin board, diy

They all seemed to be the same size, so I cut all 4 squares of cork the same size.  To mark where I needed to cut, I used a Sharpie.window frame, bulletin board, diy

Then, I tried several different methods to cut the cork board from children’s scissors, craft scissors, and an Exacto knife…  The Exacto knife cut the best, so I cut the cork board with that.  And I just sort of eye balled cutting a straight line with the two marks I made to mark the measurements.

window frame, bulletin board, diy

The cut did not go all the way through the cork board, so I bent the cork in half along the cut to completely separate the cork board.

window frame, bulletin board, diy

Then, as I mentioned earlier, the pack of cork board only came with 4 squares, but I had 6 window panes to cover.  So I used my scraps to make the other two pieces of cork.

window frame, bulletin board, diy

The first thing I did was cut off the long skinny piece and tossed it.  Then, I was left with 4 rectangles the same size.  I took 2 and put them together with the 2 sides that were not cut touching each other because they were smooth and would glue together better. window frame, bulletin board, diy

Then, I used a piece of cork board that was already cut as a guide and I cut these two pieces.

window frame, bulletin board, diy

Then, I glued them together with glue.  I used Beacon’s Advanced Craft Glue because I had it on hand and I find it works on everything.

window frame, bulletin board, diy

And just pressed the two pieces together for a few minutes until they were secure.

window frame, bulletin board, diy

Then, I didn’t want the seam to show, so I used leftover fabric from the curtain and pillow projects I did in the bedroom to cover 3 pieces of cork, including the 2 ones made out of scraps.  I just laid the piece of cork on the fabric and glued the edges of the fabric down on the back of the cork.

window frame, bulletin board, diy

Then, I took all 6 of my pieces of cork and put the little sticker adhesive that came with the package on all four corners and stuck them each in a window pane.window frame, bulletin board, diy

And here is the finished bulletin board:

window frame, bulletin board, diy

And the Budget Breakdown:

  • Window Frame-$11
  • Cork board package-$6.60, regulary $11 with 40% off coupon
  • Fabric-$0, leftover from other projects

Total:  $$16.60

What do you think?  I think it turned out great!  I can’t wait to pin a bunch of stuff up there.  Have you guys made a bulletin board lately?  Or made a window frame into something else?  I love the window frame trend and seeing what everyone is making them in to!

Leave a Reply

